Sounds Now at the New Music Conference 2023

with panelists Hanan Benammar, Remy Alexander, Teresa Diaz de Cossio and Filippos Raskovic — alumni of the 2022 Sounds Now Curating Diversity course. Moderated by Mirjam Zegers.

Hanan Benammar - New Music Conference 2023
1/4 Hanan Benammar / Photo: Jannik Abel/Association of Norwegian Visual Artists
Remy Alexander - New Music Conference 2023
2/4 Remy Alexander / Photo: Foppe Schut
Teresa Diaz de Cossio New Music Conference
3/4 Teresa Diaz de Cossio / Photo: Josué Castro
Filippos Raskovic - New Music Conference 2023
4/4 Filippos Raskovic / Photo: Laura Jaraminaitė

BumaStemra, the copyright organisation for music authors in the Netherlands, has long been supporting Sounds Now partner November Music. Since 2019, November Music and Buma/Stemra have presented together the New Music Conference on the last Friday of the 10-day festival. For one whole day, relevant topics in the contemporary music scene are addressed through panel talks, round tables or other open formats These are complemented by discussions, interviews and (musical) presentations by artists.

Sounds Now has had the honour of collaborating with the New Music Conference since 2020, with a dedicated slot during the day to explore issues around equality, diversity and inclusion in contemporary music.

This year, the New Music Conference will take place on November 9. Sounds Now is delighted to invite four participants from our annual ‘Curating diversity’ course for emerging curators in music: Hanan Benammar, Teresa Diaz de Cossio, Remy Alexander and Filippos Raskovic. Mirjam Zegers, coordinator of the Curatorial Practices in Music course at ArtEZ University, will moderate. During the panel talk, the course alumni, coming from varying disciplines of art, will reflect on their work and the challenges they face today.

New Music Conference programme

Sounds Now at the New Music Conference 2022 — video capture of the “Long Table” discussion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *