Oslo Musics at Ultima 2020

Ultima (NO)

Oslo Musics – September 11, 2020

A Sounds Now Open Space

Sandeep Bhagwati unites musicians across cultural divides.

Composer Sandeep Bhagwati

Oslo Musics ensemble

Sandeep Bhagwati:
Virelai Chakra (2020, WP)
…er kvar gong nytt, våre uforståelege gamle musikken… (2020, WP)
A Sonic Migrants Manifest Chakra (2020, WP)
Moments éphémères (2020, WP)

SN partner Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival commissioned Sandeep Bhagwati to work with nine musicians from various traditions based in Oslo. He visited their homes and studios, listened to their music and conducted an intensive workshop. When COVID-19 hit, the work continued online. Oslo Musics has now evolved into a music and video project comprising four pieces:

Virelai Chakra – A cycle of imitations where every musician tries and fails to mimic the music of another musician and culture.

…er kvar gong nytt, våre uforståelege gamle musikken… (… it was always new, our incomprehensible old music…) – A piece in which everyone’s traditional music appears in sonic contexts inwhich it does not fit – or perhaps, on closer listening, it does?

A Sonic Migrants Manifest – A narrative/text-based music piece developed from musicians’ memories of arriving in Oslo.

Moments éphémères – A series of 5 short pieces for 2-3 musicians stemming from different poetic and emotional states which the musicians develop in isolation. The audience determines who will play with whom, leading to some unexpected musical encounters.

Inga Margrete Aas – bass 
Kouame Sereba – vocals, various instruments
Anne Hytta – Harding fiddle
Sanskriti Shrestha – tabla
Shble Saleem – oud
Cheb Hocine – vocal
Kalle Moberg – accordion
Ibou Cissokho – kora
Oddrun Lilja Jonsdottir – guitar

View the film